Four Ohio State Graduate Students Awarded Fulbrights

Patrick S. Osmer — November 06, 2013

Pat Osmer

I’m delighted to report that four Ohio State graduate students have been awarded Fulbright grants to conduct research abroad.

Three are PhD students in History: Austin Dean, John Douglas Johnson, and John Knight. The fourth graduate student is Michael Larson, MFA in English. More

Their success is part of an overall effort at Ohio State over the past several years to increase the numbers of undergraduate and graduate students and faculty who apply for these awards. This effort paid off recently with the announcement that Ohio State is being recognized as a top producer of Fulbright awardees.

Through our fellowship office, the Graduate School works with graduate students who are applying for Fulbright programs. We provide feedback for proposals, we convene a faculty review committee to interview prospective applicants, and we oversee the development of the final applications.

The Fulbright Program, sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, is the U.S. government’s flagship international exchange program. It provides grants for students and scholars to study, teach or conduct research and exchange ideas in 155 countries.

I encourage all of you to consider the opportunities that are available to you through a Fulbright experience. International experience has long been a crucial part of graduate education and graduate research, and it will be increasingly more important in this globalized world.

The rankings of both scholars and students are the result of an increased emphasis at Ohio State on Fulbright opportunities. Over the last four years, the Graduate School, Undergraduate Fellowship Office and Office of International Affairs have collaborated to promote Fulbright opportunities through a Fulbright Week at Ohio State program.



Patrick S. Osmer is vice provost for graduate studies and dean of the Graduate School at Ohio State. He is also currently serving as chair of the board of directors for the Council of Graduate Schools. Osmer was chair of the Ohio State astronomy department from 1993-2006.


Write a comment

  • Required fields are marked with *.

If you have trouble reading the code, click on the code itself to generate a new random code.

Recent Posts

Need help?

Contact staff members in the Graduate School using the staff directory, or call (614) 292-6031.

Follow us

Facebook Facebook
Twitter Twitter