Presidential Fellows Announced

M. Scott Herness — December 09, 2015

M. Scott Herness, interim vice provost for graduate studies and dean of the graduate school

I am delighted to announce that the Graduate School has awarded Presidential Fellowships to 24 doctoral students.

The Presidential Fellowship is the most prestigious award given by the Graduate School, and it recognizes the outstanding scholarly accomplishments and potential of doctoral students entering the final phase of their dissertation research.

The fellowship provides financial support so each fellow can devote one year of full-time study to the completion of his or her dissertation.



Presidential Fellows, Autumn 2015

Lee Casalena, Materials Science and Engineering

Lingqian Change, Biomedical Engineering

Nicholas Chesarino, Biomedical Sciences

Robert Denton, Evolution, Ecology & Organismal Biology

Carolyn Elerding, Comparative Studies

Dalen Fultz, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology

Margaret Mehling, Psychology

Kate Owen, English

Benedict Owen, English

Jordan Satler, Evolution, Ecology & Organismal Biology

Johnathon Sheets, Food, Agricultural & Biological Engineering

Dane Smith, Physics

Garrett Somers, Astronomy

Anna Testen, Plant Pathology

Levi Todd, Neuroscience

Miguel Valerio, Spanish and Portuguese

Chaojie Wang, Biochemistry

Bo Wang, Chemistry

Michael Wood, Electrical and Computer Engineering

David Wright, Earth Science

Sevket Murat Yasavul, Linguistics

Yanfei Yin, History of Art

Xiangrui Zeng, Mechanical Engineering

Lifeng Zhou, Mechanical Engineering


M. Scott Herness is interim vice provost for graduate studies and dean of the Graduate School at Ohio State. Herness is a professor and former chair of Oral Biology in the College of Dentistry and holds a joint appointment in the Department of Neuroscience, College of Medicine.


Write a comment

  • Required fields are marked with *.

If you have trouble reading the code, click on the code itself to generate a new random code.

Recent Posts

Need help?

Contact staff members in the Graduate School using the staff directory, or call (614) 292-6031.

Follow us

Facebook Facebook
Twitter Twitter